1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Will going from 17" to Limited 20" wheels affect my speedometer or ride?

Discussion in 'Wheels & Tires' started by Sumdumyoyo, Jul 23, 2017.

1. Jul 23, 2017 at 4:08 PM
    Sumdumyoyo

Sumdumyoyo [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Wesley
    Vehicle:
    2016 4runner
    None yet
    I just purchased a 2016 4runner SR5.
    Will it change anything if I want to go from the original ugly 17" wheels to the Limited 20" wheels. A "adviser" at the dealer said it would change the speedometer and ride stiffer. I'm new to the 4runner world so go easy lol.
    Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Jul 23, 2017 at 4:29 PM
    PVT Pablo

PVT Pablo

Member:
    First Name:
    Paul
    Kitsap County, WA
    Vehicle:
    2016 4Runner TRD Pro
    The dealership adviser is an idiot. The overall diameter of the SR5 wheels/tires and Limited wheels/tires are identical at 31.6" so your speedometer will remain completely unchanged. Ride stiffness will be a negligible change as well as you're only loosing 1.5" of sidewall. Ride harshness regarding tires will be far more influenced by tire compound/construction than an inch and a half of rubber.

Also, welcome! Don't let any of the above make you think I'm being hard on you at all. :)

Backslider and Bob like this.
  3. Jul 23, 2017 at 4:42 PM
    Sumdumyoyo

Member:
    First Name:
    Wesley
    Vehicle:
    2016 4runner
    None yet