1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

TPMS light is flashing

Discussion in 'General 4Runner Talk' started by southam, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. Oct 2, 2015 at 4:53 AM
    #1
    southam

    southam [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Member:
    #503
    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    My tire pressure icon is flashing. Is there anything I can check besides tire pressure? How does it even work?
     
  2. Oct 2, 2015 at 11:02 AM
    #2
    ajohnson

    ajohnson Glamorous

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Member:
    #94
    Messages:
    397
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Andy
    Charlotte, NC
    Vehicle:
    87 4Runner SAS and other stuffs, 07 Tacoma
    Things and stuff and such
    The light will stay constantly lit if tire pressure is low. Blinking indicates a problem with the system, typically a bad sensor.
     
  3. Oct 3, 2015 at 8:48 AM
    #3
    LTDSC

    LTDSC Soccer Dad Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Member:
    #13
    Messages:
    3,038
    Gender:
    Male
    Northern California
    easier to go to a discount tire shop or americas tire, whatever they call themselves in your region. They can scan them without opening the bead and check, maybe reset them.
     
    ajohnson likes this.
  4. Nov 2, 2015 at 12:44 PM
    #4
    drunner

    drunner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Member:
    #1086
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    5100s, 885s, Toytec 2" rear, Camburg UCAs, 255/75/17 Duratracs
    Need to do this, mine started flashing last weekend. Tempted to just stick some electrical tape over it for the time being though.
     
  5. Nov 8, 2015 at 7:39 AM
    #5
    drunner

    drunner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Member:
    #1086
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    5100s, 885s, Toytec 2" rear, Camburg UCAs, 255/75/17 Duratracs
    Update. Put tape over it. America's Tire wanted 60 bucks per sensor (all 4 are dead) and of course they wanted to do the spare as well. Didn't feel like paying 300 bucks so I put tape over it. I would just disable it, but I like it for if I puncture a tire on the freeway. I'd rather be able to pull over quickly without doing any damage to my tires than have it blow out at 80mph.
     
  6. Nov 8, 2015 at 12:11 PM
    #6
    WMU

    WMU New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Member:
    #1130
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Wabamun, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2006 - 1GR-FE - Limited
    Shrockworks Bumper - Winch - Rock Sliders - Bilsteins - 2 inch lift - Hankook Dynapro MT
    Check the air pressure of your spare if the four wheels you rotate on does not clear the icon
     
  7. Nov 8, 2015 at 1:34 PM
    #7
    drunner

    drunner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Member:
    #1086
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    5100s, 885s, Toytec 2" rear, Camburg UCAs, 255/75/17 Duratracs
    blinking light is a problem with the system (dead sensor) solid light is generally air pressure. I had mine confirmed by the tire shop.
     
  8. Nov 9, 2015 at 7:01 AM
    #8
    WMU

    WMU New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Member:
    #1130
    Messages:
    22
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Frank
    Wabamun, Alberta
    Vehicle:
    2006 - 1GR-FE - Limited
    Shrockworks Bumper - Winch - Rock Sliders - Bilsteins - 2 inch lift - Hankook Dynapro MT
    Not certain that is correct. I have Tacoma rims mounted on my unit with winter/mud terrain tires. The icon flashes after 90 km indicating the sensors are not sending to the ECU as there are no sensors in the Taco rims. When I park close to the garage the ECU picks up the original tire sensors that are stored in the garage resetting the ECU.

    Will verify this next drive.
     
  9. Nov 9, 2015 at 9:21 AM
    #9
    drunner

    drunner New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Member:
    #1086
    Messages:
    246
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Danny
    Anaheim
    Vehicle:
    07 SR5
    5100s, 885s, Toytec 2" rear, Camburg UCAs, 255/75/17 Duratracs
    Right, the icon is flashing because it can't read the sensors which are in your garage, hence something wrong with the system. My sensors are verified dead, so my light is also flashing because the system can't read the sensors.
     
  10. Oct 15, 2018 at 5:24 PM
    #10
    vbuster281

    vbuster281 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Member:
    #7469
    Messages:
    1
    First Name:
    VRB
    Vehicle:
    2005 4-Runner
    How to reset the TPMS flashing light
     

Products Discussed in

To Top