1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Replaced Valve Cover Gaskets, Now Dash Cluster Not Working

Discussion in '4th Gen 4Runners (2003-2009)' started by gingersnap, Feb 12, 2024.

1. Feb 12, 2024 at 7:04 AM
    gingersnap

gingersnap [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Lexi
    Vehicle:
    2003 4Runner V6 4.0L
    Hello everyone,
    This is my first time posting so I will do my best to include all of the information I have.

Last night, I replaced my oil, oil filter, and valve cover gaskets on my 03 4Runner. I followed a YouTube video of the same gen 4runner and didn't have any problems locating bolts, unplugging ports, or anything.

I did all of this in my driveway - the problem I'm most concerned with is after I drained the oil, it started to rain (rain wasn't forecasted until like 10pm, and at this point it was about 5pm). I also don't have a tarp so I found some big blankets and propped the blankets up surrounding the hood of the car. It was surprisingly well protected, but I fear some water droplets have caused water damage somewhere on the driver's side under the hood.

There weren't any issues reassembling everything after the valve cover gaskets. The car started up just fine and drove fine too. I thought my dash cluster lights were just off, but when I took a closer look they weren't working at all. The cluster gauges are all below the zero line and don't move, so I can't see my speed, revs, engine temp, or fuel. The cluster that shows my range and mpg lights work, but the range reads "--" instead of an actual number now.