1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Removing Rear Recovery Loop?

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010+)' started by niffman1, Oct 4, 2016.

  1. Oct 4, 2016 at 11:49 AM
    #1
    niffman1

    niffman1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #2777
    Messages:
    13
    I have a new 2016 TRD Pro and want to put on aftermarket rear fender bars. The mounting point for the bars utilize the most rearward threaded holes on the frame. However, the drivers side/right rear has a recovery loop mounted there with bolts in the 2 holes. Are these bolts (or the loop) welded in place because with reasonable torque, I can budge the the bolts for removal. It's looks like the loop may be welded to a plate spacer which then goes flush to the frame bar, but can't tell for sure if the thin spacer plate is also welded. Has anyone removed this rear loop/know how to? Do I just need to use a torque wrench....maybe the bolts just have lock tight on them.....or are they actually welded.
     
  2. Oct 5, 2016 at 3:16 AM
    #2
    Dark Knight

    Dark Knight Get off my lawn

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2016
    Member:
    #2681
    Messages:
    1,090
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Jeff
    A few pictures will help this move along.
     
  3. Oct 5, 2016 at 9:54 AM
    #3
    Pezillion

    Pezillion New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Member:
    #2780
    Messages:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2015 TEP w/KDSS
    KO2's, 1.25 spacers, 17x8 ultra's, 3/2 lift, tint, led interior, weather tech liners, color matched front and rear bumper valences, hella horns,
    I need to remove mine as well, I bent it pulling heavy trees across my property.
     
  4. Oct 5, 2016 at 10:00 AM
    #4
    Relentless

    Relentless Offroad armor Fabricating beast! Vendor

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Member:
    #74
    Messages:
    221
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Eric
    Sparks NV
    Vehicle:
    05 Limited 4.7 V8, long travel, dual locked
    Lifted on 35s and Relentless Armored, too much to list!
    They're just bolted in. Give 'er a little more leverage and they'll come loose. They're probably in the neighborhood of 100ft/lbs. We take them out all the time to install rear bumpers as they're some of our mounting points
     
  5. Oct 5, 2016 at 11:31 AM
    #5
    niffman1

    niffman1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #2777
    Messages:
    13
    Great,
    thnx for that confirmation. Believe it was a 17mm socket....will try light hammer tapping the bolt a bit and leverage a bit with torque wrench.
     
  6. Oct 6, 2016 at 4:25 AM
    #6
    MeefZah

    MeefZah Curmudgeonly

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Member:
    #1122
    Messages:
    1,735
    Gender:
    Male
    Lexington, Ohio
    Vehicle:
    '19 ORP
    Assholes call travel "overlanding"
    You shouldn't use a torque wrench to remove hardware, only to install it to a specified value.
     
    Jeff_in_MD and Relentless like this.
  7. Oct 6, 2016 at 6:51 PM
    #7
    niffman1

    niffman1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #2777
    Messages:
    13
    Ok,
    thnx,....got it, appreciate the help. I know I will have more to post as go into a build-out on my vehicle.
    cheers.
     
  8. Oct 9, 2016 at 2:34 PM
    #8
    jshsltr

    jshsltr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2016
    Member:
    #1638
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Josh
    St. Louis
    Vehicle:
    2016 Blue Trail Premium
    2015 DCSB 4x4 Tacoma Superwhite
    +1 on this. Using a torque wrench to break torque can/will ruin a torque wrench (as far as having decent calibration). Breaker bar with or without a cheater pipe is best bet.
     
  9. Oct 9, 2016 at 6:01 PM
    #9
    niffman1

    niffman1 [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2016
    Member:
    #2777
    Messages:
    13
    Appreciate help. Got them loose with a long racket; just had to get my dolly and brace myself a bit. No issue getting them out with firm steady tug. But just wasn't sure if they were actually welded in place and if they were, didn't want to be pulling on the nut. But got them out, no issue now.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top