1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Registering a 49 State Vehicle in the 50th State

Discussion in 'General 4Runner Talk' started by Trekker, Aug 2, 2020.

  1. Aug 2, 2020 at 12:42 AM
    #1
    Trekker

    Trekker [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Member:
    #15732
    Messages:
    25
    Today I got my car smogged to pass California standard. For those who aren't from the US, California has the most stringent laws when it comes to well... everything! But it has always been especially unkind to car enthusiasts, enacting the countries first smog laws all the way back in the mid 70s. In fact some companies would throw in the towel and sell so called 49 state vehicles that met the standards in the other 49 states but not California supposedly.

    I accidentally bought a 49 state 1997 4runner with out realizing it. And of course the state I live (<soon to be past tense) in is California. It was well looked after and no one fucked with the emissions equipment which is important, but it still managed to pass despite not being a 50 state vehicle.

    TLDR: I passed my smog in California despite my 4runner being an old 49 state vehicle. Its still possible to pass so don't limit your self to buying within the state if you live in California.
     
  2. Aug 2, 2020 at 4:20 AM
    #2
    DRobs

    DRobs New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2019
    Member:
    #8335
    Messages:
    203
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Dan
    Missouri
    Vehicle:
    2019 Toyota 4Runner OR - MGM
    265/70R17 Falken Wildpeak A/T3W, Eibach Pro Truck Lift, Warn VR10 Winch, Warn 100022 Winch Bumper, TRD Skid Plate, Cali Raised Light Bar, Shrockworks Sliders and Skids, LFD Ruggadized Cross Bars
    Get out of there as soon as you can.

    I have a few friends / neighbors here in the Ozarks that are from California.
    I'm from Illinois, so just as bad.

    Can be hard to make a living wage around here but if your retired, own your own business, or work overseas - the Ozarks is a beautiful quiet place to live. Lots of freedom - no smog testing, depending on where you live - no building codes (can live in an off the grid in a mud hut). CCW license are available but none is needed to open carry or conceal carry a handgun. Land is still affordable.
     
  3. Aug 2, 2020 at 7:11 AM
    #3
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    Here is the quote from CA DMV;

    Caution: Unless the vehicle was originally manufactured to meet California emission standards or the owner or vehicle qualifies for an exemption, California law prohibits California residents or businesses from bringing into California or registering in California, a motor vehicle which is less than 2 years old and has less than 7,500 miles on the odometer at the time of purchase, trade, or acquisition. Refer to the Statement of Facts California Non-Certified Vehicle (REG 256F) form for exemptions.

    See
    https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/how-to-9-register-a-vehicle-from-out-of-state-nonresident-vehicle/
     
  4. Aug 2, 2020 at 11:06 AM
    #4
    rkwfxd

    rkwfxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Member:
    #5662
    Messages:
    624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Whittier - So Cal

    I'm glad this worked out for you but as a life long hostage of the Peoples Republic of Kalifornia and a life long car/motorcycle enthusiast I personally would not use your one time good fortune as an accurate example of working with this State's DMV. I absolutely will never ever purchase another vehicle in California that is not currently registered in California, regardless of year.
     
  5. Aug 2, 2020 at 11:10 AM
    #5
    rkwfxd

    rkwfxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Member:
    #5662
    Messages:
    624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Whittier - So Cal
    Hmmm, As I read through those it kind of looks like you CAN register an out of state vehicle if it is over 2 years old and has over 7,500 miles and passes a Smog Check?
     
  6. Aug 2, 2020 at 11:34 AM
    #6
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    19
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    That's my understanding of it. I unfortunately got pretty well versed in the rules after I got my new 4 Runner from out of state. It was 50 state, but, still a pain in the ass since all of the DMV offices were closed and later slowly reopened due to Covid. A hundred bucks for a VIN verification, $75 smog check (yep on a new vehicle), and about $5k in taxes, its now registered. CA is a pain, but, ultimately CA has been good to me.

    On another note, the smog guy said that a new 50 state vehicle will not pass until it gets 300 or so miles on it. Don't know why or how true this really is though.
     
  7. Aug 2, 2020 at 11:37 AM
    #7
    rkwfxd

    rkwfxd New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2018
    Member:
    #5662
    Messages:
    624
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Whittier - So Cal
    That is correct. The computer needs time to calibrate.
     

Products Discussed in

To Top