1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

New Tire Sensors Program

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010+)' started by thkbaron, Jun 3, 2021.

  1. Jun 3, 2021 at 8:20 PM
    #1
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    So I'm buying a new 4runner and the dealer is trying to rip me off ordering my new tires and wheels. I'd like to just get the whole set with new sensors and all. Is there a way I can do the sensor setup myself? I've seen this Carista OBD2 dongle advertised? Just curious. I don't live near a Toyota dealer so if I can do it myself it would be nice.
     
  2. Jun 3, 2021 at 10:10 PM
    #2
    Mtbpsych

    Mtbpsych New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Member:
    #7922
    Messages:
    1,420
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5
    Why can’t you swap the ones your 4Runner came from?
     
  3. Jun 3, 2021 at 10:50 PM
    #3
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    You can but if I can get decide to sell them it’ll be easier with sensors or if I wanted to run a winter set.
     
  4. Jun 3, 2021 at 11:01 PM
    #4
    Mtbpsych

    Mtbpsych New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Member:
    #7922
    Messages:
    1,420
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5
  5. Jun 4, 2021 at 6:19 AM
    #5
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    My 2020 pro can set up the TPMS from the dash. I have a Carista but have never used it for TPMS.
     
  6. Jun 4, 2021 at 6:21 AM
    #6
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Really? Wonder if that’s exclusive to trd.
     
  7. Jun 4, 2021 at 6:26 AM
    #7
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    I don't think so.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Jun 4, 2021 at 6:33 AM
    #8
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Yeah I read through the thread. Seems like that’s definitely two different things. One seems to be when you rotate and the other is a reprogram.
     
  9. Jun 4, 2021 at 6:52 AM
    #9
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    I think it all changed in 2020. I have added a new sensor without issue.
     
  10. Jun 4, 2021 at 7:30 AM
    #10
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Toyota brand?
     
  11. Jun 4, 2021 at 7:53 AM
    #11
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
  12. Jun 4, 2021 at 8:02 AM
    #12
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Sounds good. Thx
     
  13. Jun 4, 2021 at 11:23 AM
    #13
    Daytonaviolet

    Daytonaviolet TRD Bro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #9167
    Messages:
    1,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    Blizzard Pearl TRD Bro
    The 4runner has the capability of storing two sets of tpms (5 tpms per set)

    You can program another set of ID codes in the 4runner but you’ll need techstream software and or have the dealer do it. not sure if tire shops can do this.

    another option is to buy programmable tpms and clone the ID codes from your first set.

    here’s a teachstream view

    5C95F94C-9B7A-4622-990C-D9E545C3A2B0.jpg
     
    r32 likes this.
  14. Jun 4, 2021 at 4:31 PM
    #14
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I guess I’ll see what happens
     
  15. Jun 4, 2021 at 8:29 PM
    #15
    Alloutdrs1

    Alloutdrs1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Member:
    #20410
    Messages:
    126
    I just changed the wheels on my 21' ORP, i ordered another set of factory sensors and followed the prompts to program using the truck. It took about 40 mins of driving for me but the truck accepted the new sensors without issue.
     
    Spare Parts and Daytonaviolet like this.
  16. Jun 4, 2021 at 9:10 PM
    #16
    Daytonaviolet

    Daytonaviolet TRD Bro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #9167
    Messages:
    1,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    Blizzard Pearl TRD Bro
    What year 4runners have this feature ? I know my 2016 does nothing have it.
     
  17. Jun 4, 2021 at 9:25 PM
    #17
    Antman

    Antman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Member:
    #12698
    Messages:
    536
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2021 4Runner off-road premium
    King Coilovers King rear shocks Spc UCA Spc rear Trail arms Icon 52700 rear springs Icon panhard bar SCS Ray10’s Rci Sliders Rci Full Skids
    its 2020 and up I believe.
     
    Daytonaviolet likes this.
  18. Jun 4, 2021 at 9:45 PM
    #18
    Daytonaviolet

    Daytonaviolet TRD Bro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #9167
    Messages:
    1,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    Blizzard Pearl TRD Bro
    This is good to know. It’s a feature with entune 3 ? I guess changing HU would loose this feature ?
     
  19. Jun 5, 2021 at 7:11 AM
    #19
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I’ll see what happens.
     
  20. Jun 5, 2021 at 2:48 PM
    #20
    Antman

    Antman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2020
    Member:
    #12698
    Messages:
    536
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Anthony
    NorCal
    Vehicle:
    2021 4Runner off-road premium
    King Coilovers King rear shocks Spc UCA Spc rear Trail arms Icon 52700 rear springs Icon panhard bar SCS Ray10’s Rci Sliders Rci Full Skids
    I did everything in the menu on the speedometer. So I don’t believe changing the HU would affect anything.
     
    Daytonaviolet likes this.
  21. Jun 5, 2021 at 6:16 PM
    #21
    Daytonaviolet

    Daytonaviolet TRD Bro

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2019
    Member:
    #9167
    Messages:
    1,475
    Gender:
    Male
    Bay Area, CA
    Vehicle:
    Blizzard Pearl TRD Bro
    I need a newer truck :)
     
    Antman likes this.
  22. Jul 26, 2021 at 4:59 AM
    #22
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    Well I can confirm that you can set your own new TPMS sensors. Worked like a charm. Just do what the vehicle tells you to. Took about 5 minutes of driving.
     
    Spare Parts and LA260 like this.
  23. Jul 26, 2021 at 5:52 AM
    #23
    Alloutdrs1

    Alloutdrs1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2021
    Member:
    #20410
    Messages:
    126
    Yours updated fast! Mine did it but took like 40 minutes of driving.
     
  24. Sep 1, 2021 at 3:18 PM
    #24
    LA260

    LA260 New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2020
    Member:
    #14602
    Messages:
    251
    Gender:
    Male
    Did you buy OEM# 42607-48010 sensors or the Densos?
     
  25. Sep 2, 2021 at 7:12 AM
    #25
    thkbaron

    thkbaron [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2021
    Member:
    #20527
    Messages:
    207
    Gender:
    Male
    I couldn't tell you that. They certainly look oem. it's whatever discount tire tossed in there.

    This is what was on the invoice if it helps:

    4 - BHS RDE067 TQ40 RED 315 MHZ
     
  26. Sep 6, 2021 at 10:14 AM
    #26
    HornedOwl

    HornedOwl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Member:
    #16449
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Washington State
    LA260 likes this.
  27. Sep 6, 2021 at 6:16 PM
    #27
    wfxt

    wfxt Still figuring it out

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2020
    Member:
    #17231
    Messages:
    94
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Wayleigh
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2021 MGM 4R TRD Pro
    This is curious. I don’t think my spare tire has ever shown up on my TPMS display, just the four mounted tires… maybe this is something to mention to the dealer when I bring it in for the 10K service?
     
  28. Sep 6, 2021 at 6:46 PM
    #28
    HornedOwl

    HornedOwl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Member:
    #16449
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Washington State
    I bought 5 sensors, one for my aftermarket tire/wheel and it showed up after they programmed it. The stock spare must not have a TPMS sensor.
     
  29. Sep 6, 2021 at 7:30 PM
    #29
    Glenn Goodlett

    Glenn Goodlett New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2020
    Member:
    #14894
    Messages:
    46
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Glenn
    Vehicle:
    2020 TRD Pro
    Paid for
    I think the spare only shows up if you have a Limited and maybe a Niteshade. I know that on my 2020 Pro the spare sensor would not show and seemed to confuse the system.
     
  30. Sep 6, 2021 at 7:31 PM
    #30
    HornedOwl

    HornedOwl New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Member:
    #16449
    Messages:
    126
    Gender:
    Male
    Washington State
    I have an off road premium
     

Products Discussed in

To Top