1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

my boring clutch rebuild thread

Discussion in '3rd Gen 4Runners (1996-2002)' started by that'smy4runner, Apr 23, 2024.

1. Apr 23, 2024 at 10:35 AM
    that'smy4runner

that'smy4runner [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hello, new member here. I'm going to duplicate some of this content from a similar thread on another forum that doesn't seem to want to function. This is not a how-to thread, it will be more of an "help-me" thread lol. I've never done a clutch before, never wanted to, and hope I never have to again.

This is a 97 4WD 6 cyl 3.4L with 310,000 miles, with the original clutch.

Starting from partway in:

I have been neglecting my poor 4runner the last few years while occupied by other concerns like food and shelter. Plus I had sort of given it up for lost due to rust. Then I learned about fluid film, and that renewed hope that I can squeeze a few more years out of it.

Spending some time underneath it has me noticing things, and not good things. While my frame looks ok rust-wise, I discovered both of my front sway bar links have rusted apart completely. Surely other front suspension parts are in need of replacement too, but I haven't checked. Based on the way it chews up tires I am confident of that. I also noticed what may be rear axle seal leaks, as evidenced by a damp-looking buildup of crud in back of each wheel

crud_fe2dfc4828cdd4f87119da0f953c851b18a46b39.jpg

I haven't checked the diff breather, but I will.