1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Massive Electrical Failure

Discussion in '4th Gen 4Runners (2003-2009)' started by mtnlakeman, Aug 15, 2017.

1. Aug 15, 2017 at 2:50 PM
    mtnlakeman

mtnlakeman [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hi Everyone, newbie here from North Idaho. Have a 2004 4runner V8 as my daily driver and it had a major electrical problem last week. Been searching the internet and talking to local mechanics and can't find where to even start so hoping someone has some advice?

The symptoms: was backing up a horse trailer with AC on high and all of a sudden the entire AC/Heater display shut off and the fan stopped working. I lost turn signals, but still have hazards, lost rear defog, and the battery won't charge. The horse trailer lights and turn signals were working prior to the failure.

What I've tried and still hasn't solved the problem: new battery, checked fuses, checked relay's (to the best of my ability), took alternator out and it checked out good (that was 5 hours of anger), saw a post there might be relay's near the glove box so completely disassembled passenger dash and didn't find any relay's. Tested for parasitic drain and surprisingly showed no drain, put my volt meter into the fuse and relay positions and found the charging relay, towing relay and ac relay had no power. Tested the fog lamp relay position and it showed it had power. Fog lights work so I put that relay into the AC spot, but didn't help.