1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Mac Nerds....

Discussion in 'Off-Topic Discussion' started by Ol'Blue, Nov 25, 2016.

  1. Nov 25, 2016 at 6:34 PM
    #1
    Ol'Blue

    Ol'Blue [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Member:
    #55
    Messages:
    1,376
    Gender:
    Male
    "Not all who wander are lost"
    Vehicle:
    99 T4R LTD- 33's and locked, 01 SR5-,SAS Sold...
    A few things here and there. Still dreaming up stuff
    I need some help guys. I just a Imac given to us. Some friends are moving to China for awhile and left us there 27inch Imac desktop. SO I have to get a key board for it for starters and after that I want to know if it is worth updating to the new OS system from Mac. It has I'm told snow leopard on it now. School me up Mac nerds.

    Blue
     
  2. Nov 25, 2016 at 7:56 PM
    #2
    PVT Pablo

    PVT Pablo Ultra Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #1694
    Messages:
    1,065
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    2016 4Runner TRD Pro
    I've got a brand new iMac magic keyboard sitting in a box here if you're interested. $40 bucks shipped.

    I'd help you with your iMac, but I'm running windows on mine :)
     
    hmgt4r and Bob like this.
  3. Nov 25, 2016 at 8:16 PM
    #3
    Ol'Blue

    Ol'Blue [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Member:
    #55
    Messages:
    1,376
    Gender:
    Male
    "Not all who wander are lost"
    Vehicle:
    99 T4R LTD- 33's and locked, 01 SR5-,SAS Sold...
    A few things here and there. Still dreaming up stuff
    That would be sweet man and would really help considering I can't really do anything with out it. Does it have the USB ports on it?

    Also how do you get that windows is and the mac to run together. I had a buddy running both of them on his mac book pro.

    Blue
     
    Bob likes this.
  4. Nov 26, 2016 at 11:20 AM
    #4
    PVT Pablo

    PVT Pablo Ultra Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #1694
    Messages:
    1,065
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    2016 4Runner TRD Pro
    PM'd.

    Running both iOS and Windows is super easy. Your iMac should come preloaded with "bootcamp", its a program that streamlines the whole thing. All you need is an official windows install key and disc and you're golden.
     
  5. Nov 26, 2016 at 12:06 PM
    #5
    Ol'Blue

    Ol'Blue [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Member:
    #55
    Messages:
    1,376
    Gender:
    Male
    "Not all who wander are lost"
    Vehicle:
    99 T4R LTD- 33's and locked, 01 SR5-,SAS Sold...
    A few things here and there. Still dreaming up stuff
    So I need to get a disk. I'll see what I can do about that.

    I also talked to Apple store today. I'm going to get the RAM updated and put more in it up 16gigs. And then get the newer OS so there is not an issue with security crap all the time. I needed a new computer anyhow so this is perfect timing. My Lenovo has been worked HARD and put away wet more times than I care to admit. It has more frequent flyer miles than more will have in a life time. Its been a work horse of a lap top.

    Blue
     
  6. Nov 27, 2016 at 4:58 PM
    #6
    wnelax04sr5

    wnelax04sr5 Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Member:
    #12
    Messages:
    2,579
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ethan
    CT
    Vehicle:
    2004 SR5 4X4 Galactic Gray
    i guess to speak to the mac OS update I have it and its running fine on a 4 year old unit
     
  7. Nov 27, 2016 at 9:16 PM
    #7
    TejasRunner

    TejasRunner New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2016
    Member:
    #2561
    Messages:
    64
    Gender:
    Male
    You can also use a product like VMWare Fusion so you can run both at the same time, instead of one or the other. Requires more memory but if you have 8GB, it's pretty easy.
     
  8. Nov 28, 2016 at 9:58 AM
    #8
    Ol'Blue

    Ol'Blue [OP] Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Member:
    #55
    Messages:
    1,376
    Gender:
    Male
    "Not all who wander are lost"
    Vehicle:
    99 T4R LTD- 33's and locked, 01 SR5-,SAS Sold...
    A few things here and there. Still dreaming up stuff
    I'm having 16 put into it. It only has 4 right now. That is the other thing that is going to happen to it while at Apple Store.

    Blue
     
  9. Nov 28, 2016 at 2:15 PM
    #9
    PVT Pablo

    PVT Pablo Ultra Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Member:
    #1694
    Messages:
    1,065
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Paul
    Chesapeake, VA
    Vehicle:
    2016 4Runner TRD Pro
    Make sure they don't screw you on adding RAM just because its at the apple store. Its super easy to add yourself.
     
    Ol'Blue [OP] likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top