1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

How do I add Power to the glove box

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010-2024)' started by Joey_B, Jun 30, 2018.

  1. Jun 30, 2018 at 9:06 AM
    #1
    Joey_B

    Joey_B [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2017
    Member:
    #5176
    Messages:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Rich
    Vehicle:
    2017 SR5
    I've searched on here for a while but can not find info to tear apart (disassemble) the area around the glove box. I want to add a power outlet to the glove box. The fixture mount is there but the outlet is not. Ultimately I want to power a dash cam. I'd prefer to not go through the firewall but can. Not sure where to go through from the outside to the inside but I'm sure there are a coupe options. I have not torn apart (disassembled) any thing yet since this is my wifes car mostly so I need to look like I know what I'm doing.

    Hopefully one of you can point me to a thread where something similar has been done.

    2017 SR5

    Thanks.
     
  2. Jun 30, 2018 at 10:06 PM
    #2
    PCRIDE4RUNNER

    PCRIDE4RUNNER New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2018
    Member:
    #5722
    Messages:
    414
    SUPER DUPER
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR
    I was thinking about this too.

    Honestly you could probably just tap into the wire for the one under the stereo.

    I wanted to move the 1/8” AUX plug into the console. I hate the wire exposed... I
    Use my little
    30GB Zune!!
     
  3. Aug 12, 2022 at 9:50 PM
    #3
    Stuffy

    Stuffy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Member:
    #9629
    Messages:
    49
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2014 4runner SR5 2WD
    SCS RAY10 17" BFG KO2 TRD PRO FRONT GRILL HID LOW BEAM, LED high/fog/interior Ceramic tint all around TRD CAI Blackout emblems
    Any updates on this mod!
     
  4. Aug 13, 2022 at 3:09 AM
    #4
    Braumeister

    Braumeister Kampai, bitch!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2022
    Member:
    #28109
    Messages:
    39
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Bentley
    Northern MI
    Vehicle:
    2021 TRD Off-Road Premium
    This video on a remote starter installation covers the removal of the glove box and pulling the starter’s wiring harness between the steering column and glove box connection; this would be very similar to tapping into the ACC fuse on the cabin fuse box and bringing a power wire across to the glove box.

    https://youtu.be/rGWY4VLmsI0

    Hope this helps!

    B.
     
  5. Aug 13, 2022 at 4:17 AM
    #5
    Stuffy

    Stuffy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2019
    Member:
    #9629
    Messages:
    49
    DFW
    Vehicle:
    2014 4runner SR5 2WD
    SCS RAY10 17" BFG KO2 TRD PRO FRONT GRILL HID LOW BEAM, LED high/fog/interior Ceramic tint all around TRD CAI Blackout emblems
    Thank you! I will check it out
     
  6. Aug 16, 2022 at 6:42 AM
    #6
    PJSnow

    PJSnow New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2019
    Member:
    #12291
    Messages:
    111
    First Name:
    PJ
    New York
    Vehicle:
    2018 Cavalry Blue TRD Pro
    I recently relocated the USB/Aux connector to the glove box and used this guide to remove the interior trim pieces: The video above provides a better visual for glove box removal.
    In regards to adding power, you can look into this T harness from AutoHarnessHouse (https://www.autoharnesshouse.com/76297.html). It connects in line with the factory radio harness and provides ground and power leads. The harness gets no power when the vehicle is off so it functions just like the 12V socket at the base of the center stack.
     
  7. Aug 16, 2022 at 8:01 AM
    #7
    UncleShorty

    UncleShorty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2021
    Member:
    #19109
    Messages:
    37
    The above mentioned harness is rated @ 2 amps.

    Pretty much useless as a power outlet, though you might be able to charge a cell phone without over dutying the fuse...
     

Products Discussed in

To Top