1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Check engine light comes on over 20mph

Discussion in '1st Gen 4Runners (1984-1989)' started by Miguel a., Mar 19, 2020.

1. Mar 19, 2020 at 1:38 PM
    Miguel a.

Miguel a. [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    miguel
    Hello im new to this hopefully I’m doing this right I just put a new engine on and my check engine light comes on when i past 20mph running or if I rev up when it’s parked have not clue what could be wrong does anyone has an idea?

2. Mar 20, 2020 at 12:12 PM
    PhantomTweak

PhantomTweak New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Patrick
    OREGON
    Vehicle:
    1999 4Runner, bone stock
    None. Bone Stock. EXCEPT: Brushguard, tow hitch, both welded to the frame. It's good to have friends and a fully equipped garage!
    First, it helps us to know exactly WHAT you have. I'm guessing a 22RE motor. Great, so far. 2WD or 4WD? Manual or auto transmission? Is the new motor the same year as the truck?

Second, did you read out the code the CEL (Check Engine Light) is giving you? Do you have an FSM to tell you HOW to read out the codes, and what each one means, or do you need help with a quick "how-to"?

Third, did you check all the vacuum lines VERY carefully, to be certain they are all, and I mean ALL, going to/from where they're supposed to? Usually there's a little sticker under the hood, front left corner, that graphically depicts where they're all supposed to run. Is that sticker there? Presuming the engine is the same year and smog systems as the original, of course.