1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Another Purchase Advice Thread!

Discussion in '1st Gen 4Runners (1984-1989)' started by PittJoe, Sep 14, 2016.

1. Sep 14, 2016 at 12:11 PM
    PittJoe

PittJoe [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hey Guys,
    4Runner newbie here, but have looked at 1st generation 4Runners for while. One popped up on my radar near me that I am interested in checking out. Need a sanity check:

1987 SR5 192K, northeast truck with some body rust although guy says frame was pressure washed and undercoated a years ago. Not pristine, obviously. Asking $3600.

He has done a fair amount of maintenance work (water pump, thermostat, alternator, clutch and throw out bearing, starter, brake calipers and pads, radiator, cylinder head and oil pump, front ball joints (all), tie rods and idler arms, rear leaf springs and bushings, rear brake lines and gas tank) as this was his winter daily driving for years (yes, more rust). Planning on test drive on Saturday.

Any ideas on what I looking at ballpark to have rust repaired, and unfortunately I don't have time to do it myself.

Any help appreciated.

ok3fqe_fb612c37000db396d102416b39a1e714c7eef107.jpg

207mkif_123c95250f023ba4001662f07d2d2cf85e057398.jpg

2. Sep 14, 2016 at 1:19 PM
    BestGen

BestGen Member #57

Member:
    First Name:
    Paul
    Haunted Turnbull Canyon, CA
    Vehicle:
    1988 4Runner XTE 22RE/W56, '93 G144 4.88s, Spartan Locker, AllPro Sliders, OEM 15x6" rims, BFG KM2 33/10.5s, 4Crawler 1.5" BJS, OME 2" Dakar springs, TG rear bumper.