1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Always on power outlets - 2016 SR5

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010+)' started by Camphill, Oct 27, 2015.

  1. Oct 27, 2015 at 8:29 AM
    #1
    Camphill

    Camphill [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Anyone figure out how to make the power outlets on full time on this model? I can't seem to find the Power Outlet relay. I can barely hear it clicking by removing the fuse but my hearing is not as good as it once was!.

    If I can't find it I may add a Mictuning USB outlet to a spare plug in the dash and run it to th fusebox...would rather find the PO relay.
     
  2. Oct 27, 2015 at 10:01 AM
    #2
    Bob

    Bob Member Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Member:
    #1
    Messages:
    1,618
    First Name:
    Bob
    SoCal
  3. Oct 27, 2015 at 10:08 AM
    #3
    ramonortiz55

    ramonortiz55 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Member:
    #590
    Messages:
    1,598
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Vehicle:
    2001 4runner limited silver millenium
    If you can find the relay, itll work.

    The relay may not be in the same location as in the 3rd gen.
     
  4. Oct 27, 2015 at 10:15 AM
    #4
    Camphill

    Camphill [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I've read that write-up. It's not in the same location. I think it's buried inside the dashboard. You have to tear a bunch of panels off to get to it, if it's in the same place. I also don't really want to tear anything apart on my 3 week old truck....but I HATE that the outlets are not always on.
     
  5. Oct 27, 2015 at 10:17 AM
    #5
    ramonortiz55

    ramonortiz55 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Member:
    #590
    Messages:
    1,598
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Vehicle:
    2001 4runner limited silver millenium
    I know.

    The 2gen tacos have them back there also. Behind all the dashboards. Not fun getting to it.

    But I hated the outlets not being always on, more than having to break thru the dashboards :D
     
    Bob likes this.
  6. Nov 25, 2015 at 11:45 AM
    #6
    16trdpro

    16trdpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Member:
    #1191
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD pro
    Has anyone found and noted the position of the 2016 power outlet relay? I have read thru many forum posts , but do not find this information.
    1) location and ID of relay controlling 2016 power outlets?
    2) a wiring diagram for the 2016 TRD pro?
    Thank you for this forum
    QuickRefGuidePage22-23s.jpg
     
  7. Nov 25, 2015 at 4:47 PM
    #7
    16trdpro

    16trdpro New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Member:
    #1191
    Messages:
    2
    Gender:
    Male
    East Coast
    Vehicle:
    2016 TRD pro
    Looking up at the foot pedal parking brake area (2016 TRD Pro), head on the floor, I see a fuse panel indicating a fuse for the p/outlets - 15amps.
    The mechanisms in this area appear to be a rather compact, vertical electrical stack with this fuse panel attached to bottom.
    There possibly is a relay in this box or stack.
    20151125_FootwellFusePanelSmall2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2015
    Bob likes this.
  8. Nov 26, 2015 at 7:14 AM
    #8
    Camphill

    Camphill [OP] New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Member:
    #1108
    Messages:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    I think the relay is behind that box so I'm staying away from it.

    Instead I bought one of these and ran it through a rubber grommet in the firewall to the fuse box under the hood. I installed an "add-a-circuit"

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/371404180185?_trksid=p2060353.m2749.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    http://www.amazon.com/Littelfuse-FHA200BP-ATO-Add-A-Circuit-Kit/dp/B0002BGELQ


    I then popped out a blank plug just above the drivers right knee and voila I have full time power to that dual-USB connector.
     
    16trdpro likes this.
  9. Nov 26, 2015 at 7:42 AM
    #9
    MeefZah

    MeefZah Curmudgeonly

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2015
    Member:
    #1122
    Messages:
    806
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Mark
    Eureka, Calif
    Vehicle:
    17 4R & 14 TX Baja Taco
    Things with stuff, but nothing much
    Yeah, honestly, if the relay is that much of a PITA it would make more sense to just wire an accessory socket directly to the battery; or unplug the factory wiring from the rear of one of the factory sockets and direct wire that socket to battery.

    I would also like at least one 'constant on' outlet but not so much that I'm willing to disassemble the truck to get it.

    This is a situation where the American manufacturers actually got it right. Dodge offers (or offered, on a 2005 ? Durango I worked on) a dual position fuse in the fuse box, turn it one way and you have constant on outlets, turn it the other way and they are accessory on.
     
  10. Nov 27, 2015 at 5:37 PM
    #10
    ramonortiz55

    ramonortiz55 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Member:
    #590
    Messages:
    1,598
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Ramon
    Vehicle:
    2001 4runner limited silver millenium
    Yes, more than likely the relay is located behind the box.

    Its in the same spot in the 2nd gen tacomas. Its a pain in the butt to get to.
     
  11. May 29, 2017 at 5:10 PM
    #11
    jbrandt

    jbrandt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Member:
    #3915
    Messages:
    109
    Gender:
    Male
    Sacramento, CA
    If the relay is behind that fuse box, I'd still think finding it and mod'ing the relay to power all the outlets would be simpler than running a dedicated wire, especially if you're running power to the outlets in the back. It'd be a clean look, and 20 of my friends could charge their phones at once! :)

    What I would *love* to do is run a switch on the dash so I could have them always on or "normal" factory setting.

    EDIT: Wait, looks like someone did it here... (will I get banned for posting another forum's thread? :) )
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2017
    Palerider likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top