1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Rear Gate only opens when the car is on...

Discussion in '4th Gen 4Runners (2003-2009)' started by Crownheist, May 25, 2020.

1. May 25, 2020 at 6:45 PM
    Crownheist

Crownheist [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Deoua
    Vehicle:
    2005 Toyota 4Runner sports edition
    Good afternoon everyone! I’m a newbie, I just bought an 05 sports edition as a second vehicle. I love it so far but the rear gate will only
    open when the car is on. I was thinking that it could be the motor, but it does work, just not when the car is running. I’m wondering if I just need to normalize it, though I’m not having any issues with the windows. I apologize if this question has been asked before, but I didn’t see a post with this specific issue. Does any have any advise?

2. Jun 14, 2020 at 4:55 PM
    chassis

chassis New Member

Member:
    Indiana
    Vehicle:
    Sold: 2005 4Runner SR5 V6 4WD
    Please provide more diagnostic information.

What do you mean by "open"? The 4th gen does not have a powered liftgate.

With the engine off and the key removed, and the vehicle unlocked, can you open the liftgate?

Go through many scenarios of engine on/off, locked/unlocked using the fob and the door buttons, and tell us what you find.

3. Sep 21, 2023 at 10:07 PM
    MrEd4u

MrEd4u New Member

Member: