1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

Buying a 3rd gen toyota 4 runner. What can i expect to go wrong?

Discussion in '3rd Gen 4Runners (1996-2002)' started by stanleyo1, Dec 10, 2018.

1. Dec 10, 2018 at 6:33 AM
    stanleyo1

stanleyo1 [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hey there,

So I'm a complete newbie when it comes to cars. I've decided to buy a 3rd gen 4 runner over many other options because I hear of their reliability. I'm still not 100% sure what this reliability entails? Assuming I find a 4 runner in decent shape with about 170K miles on it, will I be having to do a lot of routine maintenance to keep it going or does the "toyota reliabiity" mean I probably only have to worry about changing the oil, timing belt (when needed), tire rotations etc.?

Thanks you guys

2. Dec 10, 2018 at 10:04 AM
    stecow

stecow New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Steve
    Vehicle:
    1998 Black 4Runner SR5