1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

About to give up!

Discussion in '1st Gen 4Runners (1984-1989)' started by flyright198, Nov 10, 2018.

1. Nov 10, 2018 at 5:21 PM
    flyright198

flyright198 [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Doug
    Vehicle:
    1987 4Runner turbo
    After market direct replacement turbo
    Hey, I’m new to the forum. I’ve owned a 1987 turbo t4r for about two years now. Nice, clean truck with hardly any rust. I bought it in need of the turbo being replaced which I did. A Chinese identical replacement. I’m not a mechanic but there are a couple guys here in southern KY which have good reputations for working Toyotas. I’ve had it to both of them and they can only get it to run rough and not enough power to pull itself. So question number one is: Is there any one within 200 miles of southern KY that is an expert on the Toyota turbo? And Q#2 is: can I drop a 22RE engine including the wiring harness in this thing and go?

2. Jan 20, 2019 at 7:20 PM
    turbosteven

turbosteven New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Steven
    Houston
    Vehicle:
    1986 4Runner 22RE
    None
    I would call Jerry at 22REPerformance (www.22reperformance.com) and ask him about the turbo. I know the owner, Jim, has a 22RE Turbo that he built and it has plenty of power. I am not sure if he rebuilds the turbos, but he certainly knows everything about the 22RE engines.

WallyT4R likes this.
  3. Jan 27, 2019 at 6:49 PM
    87ret4runner

87ret4runner New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Steven
    Vehicle:
    Red 87 Turbo 4runner