1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

22R Alternator Pivot Bolt STRIPPED

Discussion in '1st Gen 4Runners (1984-1989)' started by oliverhsb, Mar 15, 2023.

1. Mar 15, 2023 at 11:32 PM
    oliverhsb

oliverhsb [OP] New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Oliver
    Vehicle:
    1984 4runner - 22R - 5spd
    Tasteful Sticker Placement
    Hi everyone! This is my first time posting (so if I posted this in wrong place please let me know!). I have a 1984 4runner with a 22R, my alternator went out yesterday so today I tried to remove it. All was going smoothly until I got to the bottom 14mm bolt (I believe its called the pivot bolt). The nut is on the back, so I threw an open ended spanner on the back (handle of wrench was hitting the frame to lock it in place). I then got my ratcheting socket and started going at it from the front (bolt head). However, it felt too easy from the very get-go. The bolt was spinning, the back nut was in locked in place, BUT the bolt wasnt backing out. Im assuming the threads on the nut are stripped since the bolt was just spinning inside of the nut (and I can see metal shavings on the part of the bolt that is exposed beyond the nut, about 3 threads are sticking out beyond the nut) (again, nut was locked in place).