1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

    You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

    As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2019 Off-Road TPMS in Spare

Discussion in '5th Gen 4Runners (2010+)' started by tonycaputo, Jan 23, 2019.

  1. Jan 23, 2019 at 3:48 PM
    #1
    tonycaputo

    tonycaputo [OP] ARB OME 3" w/ LR UCA, 285 KO2's on Rotiform Six-Or

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #7594
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2019 Black 4Runner Off-Road
    ARB OME 3" Lift with LR UCA 285/70/17 KO2's Rotiform SIx-Or Rims
    Does anyone know if there is a TPMS in the spare tire? Dealership wasn't even sure when I called them. From what I can feel it seems like there isn't one there when comparing the bead to my other tires.
     
    Strandskov likes this.
  2. Jan 23, 2019 at 4:31 PM
    #2
    Dillusion

    Dillusion New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2018
    Member:
    #7998
    Messages:
    50
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    KYle
    Vehicle:
    2018 TRD OR
    Yes

    Or I'm pretty sure there is.
     
    WallyT4R and Strandskov like this.
  3. Jan 23, 2019 at 7:02 PM
    #3
    tonycaputo

    tonycaputo [OP] ARB OME 3" w/ LR UCA, 285 KO2's on Rotiform Six-Or

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #7594
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2019 Black 4Runner Off-Road
    ARB OME 3" Lift with LR UCA 285/70/17 KO2's Rotiform SIx-Or Rims
    Lol that's what everyone is saying, even the dealership.
     
  4. Jan 23, 2019 at 9:06 PM
    #4
    zoomzoom

    zoomzoom New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2018
    Member:
    #8142
    Messages:
    4
    I believe only the Limiteds have TPMS in the spare. None of the other 4R models have TPMS in the spare.
     
  5. Jan 23, 2019 at 11:23 PM
    #5
    4runningMan

    4runningMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Member:
    #7255
    Messages:
    602
    ^^ Haha sorry OP-- all I can tell you is I THINK zoom zoom is correct.
     
    tonycaputo [OP] likes this.
  6. Jan 24, 2019 at 4:28 AM
    #6
    DGP1961

    DGP1961 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Member:
    #7154
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 Premium
    Not sure the bead would reveal this anyway??
     
  7. Jan 24, 2019 at 4:36 AM
    #7
    Agent_Outside

    Agent_Outside New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2018
    Member:
    #8098
    Messages:
    161
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2011 T4R Limited
    My Limited did NOT come with a TPMS sensor in the spare. It’s easy enough to check though, is the valve stem (where you inflate the tire) metal on the outside or is flexible rubber?
     
  8. Jan 24, 2019 at 9:32 AM
    #8
    tonycaputo

    tonycaputo [OP] ARB OME 3" w/ LR UCA, 285 KO2's on Rotiform Six-Or

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #7594
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2019 Black 4Runner Off-Road
    ARB OME 3" Lift with LR UCA 285/70/17 KO2's Rotiform SIx-Or Rims
    So me and neighbor (he has a 2018 Limited) both took our spares off and it seems that we both don't have TPMS in our spares lol. Both valve stems are just rubber.

    Maybe only some Limited models have TPMS in their spares? haha
     
    4runningMan likes this.
  9. Jan 26, 2019 at 5:35 AM
    #9
    Braves95

    Braves95 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2019
    Member:
    #8519
    Messages:
    76
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    David
    Vehicle:
    2019 Nightshade Special Edition MGM
    None Yet!!
    They now make tpms with rubber stems. Now does Toyota only use the metal stem?
     
  10. Jan 26, 2019 at 3:46 PM
    #10
    4runningMan

    4runningMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Member:
    #7255
    Messages:
    602
    This is the best thread, guys.
     
    ManBeast and Snickel Fritz like this.
  11. Feb 2, 2019 at 4:07 PM
    #11
    Dreaded_Marauder

    Dreaded_Marauder New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2017
    Member:
    #3580
    Messages:
    26
    Gender:
    Male
    I’ve got a 2018 offroad and no tpms. Wish it did so we could do a 5 tire rotation. Toyota only uses metal stems if it has a sensor, it’s not rubber unless it’s an aftermarket sensor. Those rubber tpms sensor stems are thicker so easy to tell.
    6F8B62DA-6A6C-43CC-91C7-4D4B039A68ED.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Feb 2, 2019 at 11:26 PM
    #12
    WallyT4R

    WallyT4R New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #6644
    Messages:
    684
    First Name:
    Mike
    Why wouldnt you be able to do a 5 tire rotation just because the tpms sensor is not in the spare? As long as you carry all the tires with you it should be fine.
     
    4runningMan likes this.
  13. Feb 3, 2019 at 12:07 AM
    #13
    4runningMan

    4runningMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Member:
    #7255
    Messages:
    602
    .
    I wonder if you could purchase a 5th sensor for the 5th wheel? I don't see why there would have been reason to limit the software to receiving 4 connections when the system isn't designed to be tire specific.

    Granted I'm not a vehicle design engineer... so don't take me too seriously.
     
  14. Feb 3, 2019 at 5:00 AM
    #14
    Agent_Outside

    Agent_Outside New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2018
    Member:
    #8098
    Messages:
    161
    Gender:
    Male
    Colorado
    Vehicle:
    2011 T4R Limited
    I have not personally verified this but supposedly the vehicle electronics only has capacity to store 4 sensors into memory.

    You can do a 5 wheel rotation you just have 1 tire you will need to manually monitor the pressure for. You might get a TPMS warning anyway because a lot of TPMS sensors look for movement from the wheel turning to know when to transmit a signal, if you do a 5 wheel rotation you may get a light anyway. It’s worth a shot through, worst that happens is you put the other TPMS wheel back on the vehicle.
     
  15. Feb 3, 2019 at 5:34 AM
    #15
    stephbm6

    stephbm6 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2018
    Member:
    #8053
    Messages:
    10
    Gender:
    Male
    West Jordan, Utah
    Vehicle:
    2014 Silver SR5 4Runner


    I had a 2006 Tacoma off road edition and the spare tire had TPMS (so it had 5 on it). Every winter it would go off due to the cold temp. and I had to re-fill it. It was a pain in the ass.
     
  16. Feb 3, 2019 at 6:39 AM
    #16
    doxidad

    doxidad New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Member:
    #7955
    Messages:
    14
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tom
    NE Ohio
    Vehicle:
    2017 TRD ORP MGM W/KDSS
    N-Fab Nerf Bars, interior LEDs, RAV blind spot mirrors, Nox Lux blackout kit, kicker dash speakers,XnenonDepot LED Pro Highs/Lows +DRL
    My '04 T4R sport had one in the spare. Yes, it was a pain to top off the air. But it at least let you know that if you needed the spare - it had air. The TPMS ECU on my 17 TRD ORP only has slots for 4 serial numbers so I can't add the spare. I have heard that certain years of the 5th gen LTD had the 5th slot and the spare had a sensor.
     
  17. Feb 3, 2019 at 6:39 AM
    #17
    mynameistory

    mynameistory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Member:
    #5208
    Messages:
    309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tory
    Vehicle:
    The same 4Runner everyone has
    Yep. 4 sensors and one of them is currently in the spare.because I do a 5 tire rotation. I'm told the truck only has capacity for 4 but haven't personally verified.

    Remember, tires worked just fine before these little electronic gizmos.
     
    WallyT4R likes this.
  18. Feb 3, 2019 at 9:51 PM
    #18
    WallyT4R

    WallyT4R New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #6644
    Messages:
    684
    First Name:
    Mike
    You mean I would have to carry an air gauge and actually check my tire pressure manually at regular intervals?? That's crazy!:anonymous:
     
  19. Feb 4, 2019 at 7:01 AM
    #19
    DGP1961

    DGP1961 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2018
    Member:
    #7154
    Messages:
    298
    Gender:
    Male
    Vehicle:
    2018 SR5 Premium
    Wally - Assume your being sarcastic(??) Anyways (and not for you) you really don't have to check your tires that often tire pressure typically varies depending on the temperature, etc. My older Honda often goes off on a freezing morning then goes out a day or two later when the temp comes up a little. Hell tires can read a little fuller just from sitting in direct sunlight all day. You'll be chasing your tail and constantly re-adjusting them if you check them all the time.
     
    WallyT4R likes this.
  20. Feb 4, 2019 at 7:49 AM
    #20
    Kyblack76

    Kyblack76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Member:
    #5354
    Messages:
    407
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Layton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD O.R

    2018 OR here also. Was able to get TPMs unlocked with the maestro unit. Dont see a 5th any where tho...
    20181211_112146.jpg

    It gave me all sorts of goodies. Voltage, temps, door lock adjustments, .. all sorts of neato stuffs.

    (Page one of 2 you can have)
    20181211_112514.jpg
     
    Agent_Outside likes this.
  21. Feb 4, 2019 at 9:05 AM
    #21
    WallyT4R

    WallyT4R New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #6644
    Messages:
    684
    First Name:
    Mike
    Yeah I was. It seems everyone is getting lazy or it seems technology is trying to phase out any need for us to actually do anything. TPMS is just a guide for those that never even look at their tires. Just throw a few more pounds in the Honda and it won't go off anymore with the temp fluctuations.
     
  22. Feb 4, 2019 at 9:08 AM
    #22
    WallyT4R

    WallyT4R New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2018
    Member:
    #6644
    Messages:
    684
    First Name:
    Mike
    Also I'm thinking about not even putting the TPMS sensors in a second set of rims I just bought. Just place a piece of tape over the light. :)
     
  23. Feb 4, 2019 at 9:34 AM
    #23
    mynameistory

    mynameistory New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2017
    Member:
    #5208
    Messages:
    309
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tory
    Vehicle:
    The same 4Runner everyone has
    That's a cool bit of kit. What's the head unit?
     
  24. Feb 4, 2019 at 9:40 AM
    #24
    Kyblack76

    Kyblack76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Member:
    #5354
    Messages:
    407
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Layton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD O.R
    It's not bad,.. I normally dont care for double dins, but.. meh... its aight.
    This is a Kenwood DNX 994s, with the maestro unit, to keep steering wheel controls, and unlocked all that info. I painted the soche bezel kit, as it only comes in the silver, where the ORs are the neater (imho) dark color.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2019
  25. Feb 4, 2019 at 9:42 AM
    #25
    Kyblack76

    Kyblack76 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2018
    Member:
    #5354
    Messages:
    407
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Kyle
    Layton, Utah
    Vehicle:
    18 TRD O.R
  26. Feb 4, 2019 at 4:23 PM
    #26
    tonycaputo

    tonycaputo [OP] ARB OME 3" w/ LR UCA, 285 KO2's on Rotiform Six-Or

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2018
    Member:
    #7594
    Messages:
    17
    Gender:
    Male
    First Name:
    Tony
    Vancouver
    Vehicle:
    2019 Black 4Runner Off-Road
    ARB OME 3" Lift with LR UCA 285/70/17 KO2's Rotiform SIx-Or Rims
    Haha I don't think I could handle a piece of tape covering the light on a brand new vehicle. I just can't stand how TMPS companies require a different update every year to pair the same set of sensors. Such an overly-complicated, cash grab system.
     
    WallyT4R and 4runningMan like this.
  27. Feb 4, 2019 at 4:38 PM
    #27
    4runningMan

    4runningMan New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2018
    Member:
    #7255
    Messages:
    602
    Agreed. It doesn't have to be as difficult as it is. You could say that about a lot of things now days, but tire pressure sensors shouldn't be one of them.
     
    WallyT4R likes this.

Products Discussed in

To Top