1. Welcome to 4Runners.com!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all 4Runner discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other 4Runner owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2001 4Runner Knocking Noise

Discussion in '3rd Gen 4Runners (1996-2002)' started by Treefrog, Aug 24, 2018.

1. Aug 24, 2018 at 8:27 AM
    Treefrog

Treefrog [OP] New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2001 Toyota 4Runner Gold
    Hey all, I'm new to the thread thought I'd share an issue I'm having. I have a 2001 Toyota 4runner that is knocking. I've seen other threads but they never seem to find the main cause of it, I hate beating a dead horse with a stick. I'm hoping someone reads this that had the same issue I'm having and what they did to fix it. The knocking occurs at idle, irregardless of what gear I'm in, it doesn't knock on startup it only starts after the engines warmed up. It also doesn't continue as it accelerate so it's fine when you're driving but when it comes to idling or slow rush hour traffic you can hear it. It has 265k miles on it and I drive it 100 miles a day to work. So far in the last 10k miles I've replaced the water pump, timing belt, thermostat, oil cooler and pulleys. This cars been so good to me so I'd like to return the favor if it doesn't mean a full engine over haul. Any help would be appreciated. Here's a YouTube link for the sound. https://youtu.be/Udb7VZ1QYxU

2. Feb 1, 2023 at 11:55 AM
    KC4runners

KC4runners New Member

Member:
    Vehicle:
    2002 4runner SR5
    I’m having the same issue in my 2001, I see this is an older thread….. did you find a solution?

3. Feb 6, 2023 at 5:07 AM
    Ahdofu

Ahdofu New Member

Member:
    First Name:
    Matt
    Vehicle: